Making the low go

Today’s assignment is to tell you about my favorite way to treat a low blood sugar. Ever since I was a young diabetic, most of my low treatments have involved peanut butter in one way or another. My favorite is probably Honey Maid graham crackers with peanut butter, but Nilla Wafers are a pretty good combo as well. In a pinch, you can use saltines, but in that case, the cracker really just become a vehicle for the PB instead of a complement to it.

The probably usually comes in restraining myself…I’m experienced enough to know that it doesn’t take many cracker sandwiches to bring my BG back into range, but I’ll be damned if those things aren’t tasty. Most peanut butter-infused low treatments are followed by a bolus to correct my gluttony overtreatment.

Well that was easy. Hey, look at that! The CGM line is trending pretty low. I better head to the pantry to ward this low off…

My hero Dr. Carver, presumably enjoying a PB shake.

8 comments so far

  1. k2 on

    Peanut Butter w/ Nilla Wafers and on Graham Crackers- you are preaching to the choir my friend- LOVE! Another way to enjoy is matchstick pretzels dipped in peanut butter and then dipped in Nutella. SO TASTY~
    Kelly K

    • Harry on

      Ohh, pretzels…I hadn’t thought of that. I’ll make sure to get some of those so I’m ready for the next middle-of-the-night binge.

  2. S.Mc on

    Mm I can’t get enough peanut butter when I’m low! God bless Dr. Carver :)

  3. Scott K. Johnson on

    I’m guilty of the bolus immediately following a low binge too.

    Those PB sandwiches sound pretty good – I’ll have to try them!

  4. sajabla on

    Last summer I worked at Dr. Carver’s birthplace. Love that you used that photo – my coworkers and I always joked about how it’s him smoking a bo ng. LOL.

    • Lorraine on

      I’ve heard so much about peanut butter today. I’ll have to give this a go, but with soy bean butter (no peanuts for Cal).

  5. Karen on

    Now see, I would eat the peanut butter straight from a spoon. Just the way I eat my frosting. (Yes, sad but true, I am ignoring your suggestion to scoop it up with a Lorna Doone) Who wants some stupid cracker or cookie messing up all that goodness?? ;)

    • Harry on

      There’s absolutely nothing wrong with the spoon, I do that on occasion myself. Usually it’s more of a snack than a low treatment, but whatever works for you.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

