Hello, World!

Hi Everyone! I guess this is where I introduce myself and explain what this blog is about. My name is Harry. I’m 29 years old, and have had Type 1 diabetes for about 17 1/2 years now. I’ve never blogged about it before, but after experiencing the awesomeness that is the Diabetes Online Community through Twitter and the numerous other blogs out there, I felt it was time for me to step out from behind the virtual curtain. Like many of you I’ve seen the benefits of sharing experiences with other diabetics who share the same daily struggles. The internet is an amazing thing, and I’ve already met some wonderful fellow D-people that understand things that “normal people” can’t truly comprehend. Hopefully this blog will reach even more people and make this community even stronger.

You want more about me? Let’s see…for starters, I love music. In fact, the title of my blog is inspired by 25 Minutes To Go, an old Johnny Cash song. And yes, I know the song is about a guy on death row that has 25 minutes before he’s going to be executed. And no, that does not mirror my view on life with diabetes. I just liked the title, okay? I enjoy running and cycling, though I’m not going to make a living doing either one. I like to think I have a good sense of humor, I enjoy sarcasm and witty puns. Although I’m not a very creative writer, I’m a stickler for spelling and grammar, so I’ll probably look back at this later, find a mistake, and hate myself a little bit for it.

I’m not making any promises about how often I’ll update, but I’ll try to jot down a little something whenever I’m able to. I may stray away from diabetes from time to time, but don’t hold it against me…I just have a short attention span. Hopefully you’ll come back soon, when there will be some real content. Until then, tell your friends! If you hate it, tell your enemies! I’ll count the page views either way.

6 comments so far

  1. Kerri. on

    Oh this is going to be fun. 🙂

    I’m so happy you’re blogging, and you can count me in for at least a page view per day.

  2. Cherise on

    Welcome to the world of blogging! I am hope you enjoy yourself. We all stray from the d-from time to time, no worries.

    Cherise

  3. Liz on

    Welcome! No, you don’t know me; I’m a bit of a lurker when it comes to the DOC, but I have a type-1 five-year-old daughter, and “beedies blogs” are my quiet obsession — my slightly desperate hope that she’ll have something approximating a normal life.

    Anyway, I’m commenting primarily to let you know that I’m my office’s last line of defense for grammar and spelling, and nothing in your entry pinged my red-pen radar, so you can relax… at least for this post! (Well, there’s one spot where an argument could be made for a semicolon instead of a comma, but that’s it, I promise.) 😉

  4. Jeff on

    Thinking about a wordpress blog myself. Used to blog as “Team Olivia” and recently did a guest post for “SUM.” Really getting the itch again. I’m not diabetic but my daughter is type 1. Good luck – I added an RSS feed to your site so I expect some posts. 😉

  5. Lee Ann on

    I laughed at the part about looking back, finding a spelling/grammar mistake, and hating yourself a little. You just described at least one moment of every day of my life since I started blogging ;P

    Welcome to the blogosphere, Harry!

    P.S. If I ever leave a comment, and I fail at proofreading, please don’t hesitate to edit it, correcting any errors. You will be doing my peace of mind a huge favor.

  6. AmyT on

    Welcome, Harry!! Thank goodness for Twitter – so we can all find each other. Can’t wait to see what develops over here…

    All the best,
    AmyT


Leave a Reply

