Sitting, Waiting, Wishing

I see it staring at me, open mouthed, as I sit on the couch. That little Medtronic box that came 17 days ago, with the Minilink Continuous Glucose Sensor I’ve been trying to get approved for 6 months. I must have read the literature that came with it at least 5 times cover-to-cover by now (I’m a dork, I like to read instruction manuals). It’s just killing me that I can’t start using it until I’m “trained by a professional”. It would have been really nice to have on my bike ride last Saturday, so I might have anticipated that low that was seemingly impervious to Powerbar Gel and Gatorade. It would be great to have now, so that I can figure out what nightime basals need to be adjusted to avoid these morning lows I’ve been having. Obviously all the exercise I’ve been doing lately is battling with my dawn phenomenon, but it’s really hard to know when it’s dropping.

(On a side note, I’m not sure dawn phenomenon is really an accurate term. My highest basals start at 2am. I guess it’s dawn somewhere in the eastern Atlantic at that time, but for me, it’s still sleepytime)

Anyway, I’m finally meeting with the Medtronic rep next Wednesday for my training. I understand that they’re busy, and in the grand scheme of things, these few weeks are nothing compared to the amount of time I’ve waited since my coverage battle with Blue Cross Blue Shield began in December of  last year. Still, it sucks having this thing sitting there, knowing that I can’t use it yet. I’m almost positive I could figure everything out myself, but the rules say I have to be trained first. Until then, I guess that box will just continue to sit there and amuse our cats. Because, you know, a $1,000 piece of medical equipment is just sooo much more entertaining than that basket of toys 10 feet away.

Hope you guys have a great weekend!

P.S. Thanks for all of the comments and new twitter followers! I didn’t realize I had to approve the comments in order for them to appear, until Kerri pointed out that I hadn’t done so. Please pardon my ignorance.

3 comments so far

  1. Karen on

    Ah, the waiting for training is the worst. Sending speedy thoughts for Wednesday. Oh, and I’m sure my cat would love to get her little paws on my transmitter. I’m sure she’d find it much more amusing to bat around than her cat-nip mice. *sigh*

  2. Jeff on

    One question: How did you finally convince BC/BC to approve the CGM? I’d love to get one for my daughter. Her nighttime basals are perplexing to say the least.

  3. harrythompson on

    Hi Jeff. I did the requisite 1st level appeal letter after they initially denied coverage, but I think it was getting my Endo to call the BCBS Regional Medical Director that actually got the approval. The Medtronic folks were actually pretty helpful too, since they deal with this all the time. They recommended that I give my doctor a couple of real-life experiences where the CGM would have prevented severe lows. From my understanding, BCBS really only looks at the hypoglycemic side of things with respect to the CGM, so any examples you can give for severe lows when your daughter needed assistance, instances of hypoglycemic unawareness, etc. are good evidence. And definitely get your doctor involved, since I think (at least to the insurance companies), their opinion means more than something coming from a patient. Good luck! Let me know if there’s anything I can do to help.


Leave a Reply

