I am a complete mess

I can’t seem to get myself together lately. I guess it all started Friday afternoon, when on the way from work, I realized I had left my UltraLink meter in my desk. Even though this is my primary meter, I have backups at home, and it’s going to take a lot for me to turn around and go back to the office on a Friday afternoon. Since my “first backup” Ultra2 meter was also in my desk at work, I made it through the weekend with one of UltraMini meters stashed in my bedside table. This worked fine, although I forgot how much of a pain it is to have to manually plug the bg reading into the pump each time.

Fast-forward to this morning. I arrived at work and opened the drawer to find the trusty UltraLink, right where I left it. So I open the vial of test strips, only to find a whopping 2 strips (not enough to get through my workday). Luckily I had strips in the other backup meter case, even though they were a different code, just one more annoyance for the day. By the way, for some reason, there is no lancet in the backup meter lancing device. I’m not exactly sure what happened to it. I’m really just a few steps away from stabbing myself with a paper clip and tasting my blood to determine how sweet it is.

This chain of events has led me to only one possible conclusion: I need an assistant to help me keep track of my testing supplies. I am now accepting resumés for this “meter maid” position. Persons unwilling to be referred to as Lovely Rita need not apply.

P.S. I typed this entire post on my iPhone. I blame that (and a pinch of laziness) for the switching back and forth between tenses.

2 comments so far

  1. JaimieH on

    made me smile =) …meter maid position should be paid by our insurance companies…a staple might work better than a paper clip 😉

  2. Karen on

    Oh my gosh, you post has me laughing so loud I’ve scared the cat!!! I’d gladly be your lovely Rita. And if we both forget the lancets, I always have very sharp knitting needles with me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

