I’m sorry, little buddy

I’d like to issue a public apology to my left ring finger. I know it’s unfair, but he gets pricked much more often than any other finger. Unfortunately, I only come to this realization each time after I’ve pricked it.

It’s not really his fault. Maybe it’s just because he lines up so well with the lancing device when the meter case is laying on the table. Sure, the pinky is closer, but let’s face it – that hurts more often than not. Maybe it’s his “bling”. It is, after all, the only finger that gets to wear any decoration, so this could be my subconscious way of settling the score. Perhaps it’s a safe alternative to the middle finger, because you never know when you might need that one for something special. One thing’s for sure, I’m certainly not going to use my thumb. You see, I can’t stand the taste of blood, so once I’m done “loading” the test strip, I lick my non-bloody thumb, and then use that to clean up the finger that has been pricked. Weird, I know…but that’s just how I roll.

Anyway, regardless of the reason, I’m sorry, little dude. I’ll try to spread the love to your brothers (at least when I think about it).

poor little guy

poor little guy

4 comments so far

  1. Nan on

    Oh, he looks so sad! His eyes look a little bloodshot, too!

  2. Kerri. on

    Is your finger wearing a Gilligan hat? That is awesome. 🙂

  3. harrythompson on

    Indeed it is. I’m glad you picked up on my crudely photoshopped joke. And you thought I was a one trick pony!

  4. Amy Dutra on

    Actually I use that finger most also. I prefer using my left hand because I use my right hand for most other things, then my index & little fingers hurt a bit more & my middle is more squishy! Strange things we PWD’s share!


Leave a Reply

