26 point who?

Hey internet, it’s me again. Sorry for the lack of entries lately. Truthfully, other than my random gripes about everyday things that annoy me (see other recent posts), there haven’t been many blog-worthy events in my life lately. And like they always say, if you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything at all.

Pretty exciting day here at 25UTG though (we here at 25 Units to Go are trying out new acronyms…what do you think? Oh, and by “we,” I mean “me.”). Today I’m starting my next big athletic adventure – training for a marathon. Specifically, the Thunder Road Marathon in Charlotte on December 12th. I did the half marathon last year, but I’m hoping to go all the way this time around. Silly, right?

A little back story. I’ve never really been much of a runner. For the first 25 years or so of my life, running was something I was either forced to do as part of participation in another sport, or a speedy way to get to (or away from) something. In college I was on the crew team, so the only running I really did was for off-season training or on days that it was too windy to go out on the water. In the summers during college I took up cycling, which I found very enjoyable. In fact, cycling is still my favorite sport, the only problem is that it requires a very substantial time commitment, both in terms of time on the bike and the getting ready/equipment maintenance side of things. So, when I “grew up” and got married, a full-time job, and lost the ability to function on a few hours of sleep, I had to find a suitable way to stay in shape that I could fit into my day on a regular basis. My wife has been a runner most of her life, so I started running with her in the evenings after getting home from work. At first, I hated it, but over the years, I’ve learned to enjoy running, and it’s certainly a lot easier to fit a 3-4 mile run in the evening than a 1.5 hour bike ride to achieve the same level of fitness.

Back to this new goal of mine. I’m not really one of those “bucket list” kind of people, partially because that movie was just awful, but mostly because I’m not really sure of everything that I want out of my life just yet. However, I know I’d like to be able to say that I’ve run a marathon. I know I’m not going to break any speed records, but it will of course be good for my health in general, and I’m always more motivated to work out on a regular basis if I have a specific goal to train for. I’m looking forward to it. I may question my sanity before it’s all over, but for now, it seems like a good idea. Also, it should provide fuel for more blog entries, so it’s a win-win!

Well, I’d love to stay and chat, but I have a date with Hal Higdon and my running shoes. Stay tuned!

1 comment so far

  1. Scott K. Johnson on

    Hi Harry!

    I think it is a great goal to work towards, and I am sure you can do it (and find some pleasure/enjoyment too)!


Leave a Reply

