Summer of 69 (mg/dl)

Man, is it hot here. The heat index reached a high of 108º today. (Can’t wait to go to Arizona later this week, where it is actually 108º. Yeah, I know, it’s a dry heat, but that BS is a topic for another post.)

With the aforementioned heat in mind, I decided I would get up early and run before work to try to avoid the worst of the heat. I actually really like being up early…the world seems a lot more peaceful before everyone wakes up. So I prepared last night for my normal routine. I set my alarm for 5:30, so that when the alarm first goes off, I check my blood sugar to make sure things are okay, start the temporary basal on my pump, and hit the snooze button a time or two before I actually get up. This gets everything in order so I can start my run around 6 a.m.

Back to this morning: the alarm goes off and I drowsily roll over to grab my meter. Things didn’t get off to a great start when I got the “Error 5” on the first test because I jumped the gun on the blood application (Editor’s Note: I do this A LOT.) On the next test, I get the lovely surprise of a reading of 69 mg/dl. Not a terrible low, but definitely not where you want to be to start out for a run. Normally this wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world, I could just have a quick snack and wait a little longer for the carbs to kick in. Today, however, I had an additional variable: I had an appointment at 8:45 for my lab work at the endocrinologist, and their instructions were for no food or drink within 6 hours before the labs. That being the case, I couldn’t eat anything to bring up the low, so I accepted the fact that I would have to run later in the heat, reduced the basal anyway to bring the blood sugar back up, and angrily rolled back into bed.

Fast forward to this afternoon. I’m trying to tie up the loose ends at the end of my work day so I can get out of the office. I decided around 5 p.m. to do a quick test just to make sure I’d be okay to run when I got home. I tested a few hours earlier and had a 130-something, so I figured everything would be fine. A quick shunk and 5 seconds later, and look who’s back? Mr. 69 mg/dl. This number is determined to ruin my day. At least this time I was able to do something about it, I had some apple juice at work and then a quick Powerbar Gel at home before my run. It’s annoying, but I can’t help but laugh a little that my run has been postponed by a 69 twice in one day.

P.S. That’s what she said.

I hate you.

I hate you.

3 comments so far

  1. Cherise on

    That’s funny!!!! 69 wasn’t your BF today! I’m glad you had a chance to run…lol

  2. Scott K. Johnson on

    Out to get you for sure!

  3. CALpumper aka Crystal on

    That dang ‘betus. 69 always annoys me. I can handle 68 and 70. Sigh.


Leave a Reply

