Marathon Training Weeks 1-2 Wrap-Up

Well, I’m now officially 2 weeks into my 18 week marathon training program…I had planned to write a post after the first week, but I was running low on both sleep and internet access at the time, so that didn’t happen. So far, the actual running part hasn’t been too bad. The 3 weekday runs were only 3 miles each, which I had been doing anyway. The “long runs” on the weekend were 6 and 7 miles respectively, which still aren’t terribly long.

The biggest negative on the 6 mile run was that I had to do it in the freaking desert, as we were visiting family in Arizona. (Oh, and that dry heat thing? Yeah, that’s true…it does make a difference. What they don’t tell you is that there is absolutely no shade, and it’s 85 degrees at 6:30 in the morning. Basically whenever you step outside, it’s like standing in front of a giant hair dryer.)

Saturday’s 7 mile run was done back in the comfort of North Carolina, but when I say “comfort”, I really mean “miserably hot and humid business park after a rainstorm”. So that kinda sucked. The temperature was about the same as my AZ run the week before, but the humidity was just awful. That factor may or may not have led to the most troubling part of the run, which occured at around 6.5 miles.

All of a sudden, I started getting chills and goosebumps, obviously not something you would normally expect in those conditions. Along with the chills, I had this odd mild electric shock sensation whenever I touched my skin. This happened to me once before, right at the finish of my half-marathon last December. The part that confuses me is that I can’t seem to pinpoint what is causing this. Had Saturday been the only occurence, it could have dismissed it as a heat-related thing, but since it was about 35 degrees at the time of the previous incident, that doesn’t really work. Dehydration seems like an obvious choice, but both times I had a good amount of water before and during the runs. My blood sugar was fine after the run on Saturday, around 140-ish. I was low at the end of the race last time this happened, but then again, I had just run 13.1 miles. I just can’t figure it out. I’m going to try calling my doctor today to see if he has any ideas.

Until then, I’m going to enjoy my “rest day”. Happy Monday, everyone!

1 comment so far

  1. Karen on

    Wow, I can’t imagine running three miles . . . let alone six or seven, in heat and humidity! Scary about that post run episode though. I’m hoping the doctor will have a simple suggestion as to what it can be and how to fix it. You know, something easy like “low potassium, eat a banana”.


Leave a Reply

