(Just Like) Starting Over…

Hello, internet! I guess this will just be a general “catch-you-up-on where-I’ve-been” post. (Sorry, there was a sale at the hyphen store. Clearly, I loaded up. Or is that loaded-up?)

Truthfully, the last week has pretty much sucked. We had an awesome time at our SIL’s parents’ lake house over Labor Day weekend, but during that time I was getting a progressively worsening sore throat. On Wednesday of last week, I finally decided to go to the doctor. He took one look in my mouth, and said those words you don’t really want to hear from a medical professional: “Wow, I’ve never seen that before.” To clarify, he had seen it before, apparently mine just had some unique features that were really fascinating to look at. Long story short, it was decided that I had Thrush. For those of you playing at home, Thrush is a less disgusting way of saying nasty yeast infection in your throat. I admit, it does have a nice ring to it. Like undoubtedly many of you, my first question was: “how in the hell did that happen?” Apparently the most common cause is not adequately rinsing after using an oral steroid inhaler, and I do get a little lazy with my Advair sometimes, so that makes sense.

On top of the…umm, infection, my wife and I both caught a really nasty cold last week, so I had to take pretty much the entire week off from marathon training. I know in the long run I’ll probably be okay, but during that week, each day that I didn’t run I felt like I was throwing away weeks of training. It’s amazing the transformation I’ve gone through in just a couple of years, from absolutely hating running, to hating to miss a run.

I’m feeling much better after a restful weekend though, and was able to “get back on the horse” today, just with a short run. My legs actually felt really good, but since I’ve been forbidden to use my Advair inhaler for a week until the throat heals up, I felt like someone was sitting on my chest the entire run. I’ve also finally started using the CGM sensor again, after a 1.5 week break. I stopped using it before Labor Day just because I didn’t want to have to worry about it while swimming and such over the weekend, and I didn’t start back last week because I knew my sugars were going to be crappy all week because of the illness, so I didn’t want to waste a precious sensor.

So yeah, that’s what I’ve been up to. This should be a pretty good week though, so I’m looking forward to getting back into my training schedule, hopefully breathing better, and maybe even a little blogging along the way. Stay tuned!

4 comments so far

  1. CALpumper aka Crystal on

    Glad to hear you are feeling better!!

  2. Cherise on

    I am glad your feeling better! Now get back to training:)

  3. Lorraine on

    Good golly – not fun! But you manage to make it funny!

  4. Jakup Bjarkhamar on

    Glad you are feeling better


Leave a Reply

