Groundbreaking Research

My workout today got me thinking. Of course, before we get too far into this, I should explain…according to the training plan, today’s workout was supposed to be an easy 3 mile run. However, for the sake of our neighbors’ property values, it instead consisted of mowing .27 acres of grass and edging waaay too much sidewalk (one of the pitfalls of having a corner lot).

Anyway, back to why I was thinking. As far as I can remember, every time I’ve mowed our lawn, my blood sugar has gone low. I’ve tried temporary basal rates, having a pre-mow snack, I’ve even taken the pump completely off and still gone low. The only logical entertaining explanation is that yard work is a cure for diabetes. Since I pretty much know nothing about chemistry and the biological sciences, I’ve compiled a list of possible “cures” that I’ve encountered over the years. Those include:

  1. Yard Work – I know. I already discussed it. But this is my list.
  2. Swimming – Always makes me go low. The pump is pretty much always off, but it still happens. I suppose it’s possible that I’m just so bad at swimming that I expend a ton of energy just trying not to die, but I like to think the water has magical powers. You know, like in Signs where the aliens didn’t like water because it made their skin sizzle? Something like that.
  3. Woodworking – It’s a hobby of mine. I’m not great at it, but I’ve managed to build a few pieces of decent-looking furniture. But I think every time I get a chance to work on a project in the workshop/garage, I end up going low. Low blood sugar and power tools? Not a good combination.

Okay, so it was a pretty short list, but I’m sure there are others. What did we learn? Apparently that I wasted 5 years of college. I could have become a landscaper or carpenter and potentially cured my disease. Instead, I paid thousands of dollars for an education, so I could get an air-conditioned office job and pay for health benefits to keep the diabetes train a-rollin’.

What potential cures have you guys discovered? Feel free to leave a comment and share. If you need me, I’ll be in the pool treading water and eating cupcakes.

9 comments so far

  1. Cherise on

    Harry-

    I LOVE this post! California/Hubby has me spoiled. I haven’t mowed a lawn in a long time.

    Let’s see “potential” cure for me:

    1. Grocery shopping- I go low almost all the time. You would think I would be high from lusting from all the sugary treats I think about.

    2. Cleaning house- I think my pancreas is allergic to cleaning…so it holds me accountable and drops my butt quicker than you can say
    holy Sugar Honey Ice Tea:)

  2. Bernard Farrell on

    Unfortunately playing with my kids also has this effect. Though my CGM has helped a lot here.

  3. Karen Hoffman on

    Clothes shopping/hitting the dressing room! It’s like the mall sucks the sugar out of me.

  4. Kelly Rawlings on

    Yes, Cherise! Why is it that paper towels, Windex, and a powerful vacuum seem to inhale every molecule of glucose out of my blood stream?! But do I ever remember to set a temporary basal rate? Uhhh, no.

    Home improvement projects. You should see my bathtub. Warning: Do not apply silicone caulk when low. It looks like someone used an extra-large icing tip and piled on the wedding-cake frosting.

  5. Jaimie on

    Great post!

    My cures come in combos…

    eating avocado burritos & swimming at father in laws, disconnect, still low…

    or the

    beer & dancing combo

    I’ll take either cure all day long… 😉

  6. Karen on

    Yard work is the cure, huh? So are you telling me I should be mowing instead of Pete? What is worse, I wonder? Mowing the lawn or shooting insulin. It’s a close call, I tell you.

    I think I’ll just stick with the cure I discovered. Target. Shopping at Target makes me crash every time. No matter what I do. Can’t begin to tell you how many times I’ve been stuck sitting in my car waiting for my blood sugar to get to a safe level so I can drive home. Yeah, browsing in Target is better than mowing the lawn any day!!

  7. Exercise Times Two | LADA Life on

    […] in a funny post at 25 Units to Go wrote about her lawn mowing and how it must be a “cure” for […]

  8. Tom on

    For our son, it’s hot summer days and swimming. Any tiny bit of insulin is enough to send him low. I like the idea of thinking of these as “cures” instead of “problems”!

  9. […] Sunday, 6:30pm: Despite having been disconnected from my pump for about 45 minutes, my blood sugar still goes low and I have to get out of the pool and have a snack. This is, of course, due to the previously discussed fact that swimming pools cure diabetes. […]


Leave a Reply

