Weakened from the weekend

Like any normal person, I usually can’t wait for the weekend. It’s normally a great time to recover from the work week and do things that I want to do on my own schedule. This weekend has been pretty freaking exhausting though. Just a rundown of what I’ve done in the past 3 days:

Friday: Nothing big, just quit the only job I’ve had since I graduated college. It really didn’t “hit” me until Friday afternoon when I was packing up my desk and saying goodbye to all of my work friends. I know I’ll still get to see them, but the fact that they won’t be around every day to exchange sarcastic comments and small talk sort of sucks a little. I think I’ve made the right decision though, and am looking forward to the new job. Oh, and for my last lunch, we went out for a boatload of sushi. Quite literally:Good luck bolusing for that

Saturday: Got up at 6am to get ready for the Lungstrong 15k. Since this race was actually very close to my house, I ran to/from the race as well in order to rack up the mileage I was supposed to do for my training (Note: the run there was much easier than the run back). I was actually very pleased with my result, even though it was by no means blazing fast. I kept a 9:56 per mile pace, which I feel pretty good about. I was pretty busy the rest of the day, so I tried to take a nap before lunch, but that didn’t work out. I guess I was still on my runner’s high? Yeah, let’s go with that.

Sunday: We went to IKEA to pick up some new furniture for our living room. We thought we had everything figured out based on our previous “scouting” trips, but we still took forever to decide. Finally made it home with everything, did some minor assembly, and loaded up the old couch/chair/ottoman and took those to Goodwill. I would show pictures, but I don’t really want to get up and I’m not really sure where the camera is, so that’ll just have to wait.

Luckily, I’ve decided to take the next week off to decompress for a bit before I start the new job. I’m looking forward to being able to relax a bit. I’ve got several projects planned, 32 total miles to run, and a wedding in MD this weekend, but it can’t be any more exhausting than the past 3 days. You stay classy, blog readers!

2 comments so far

  1. Crystal on

    Congrats on the run! 😉
    Good luck with the new job.
    Enjoy the week off.

  2. Karen on

    Wow, I need a nap just from READING about your weekend!!! I’m surprised they didn’t find you napping in one of IKEA’s fake bedrooms or perhaps on a fake living room couch! 🙂 They always look so inviting.


Leave a Reply

