Happy(?) D-blog day!

Word on the street is that today is d-blog day. So I guess that means I should write on this blog. Perhaps even about the ‘betes. I haven’t really had much time for blogging, what with the new job and related travel and such. I’d like to say it’s also because of the marathon training, but unfortunately I’ve been battling a hip/knee injury so it feels like forever since I’ve been on a “good” run. Come to think of it, the last good run I had was also the last time I blogged.

Also part of the lack of blogging is that I’ve been a little depressed lately as a result of the injury. I feel like I’ve worked so hard to get to where I am now, and yet my body has suddenly decided to hold me back. Not all that unlike diabetes, really. Sometimes you work really hard to achieve really tight control, and something completely unexpected (a bad infusion site, infection, etc.) happens that makes everything up to that point seem like wasted effort. The only thing you can really do is to deal with whatever comes up and move on. Sometimes that means feeling like crap for an entire day after a stubborn midnight high, and sometimes it means having to stop training, ice the pain, and deal with some uncomfortable runs until things (hopefully) get better. In the meantime I’m trying to stay focused on the goal of running 26.2 miles on December 12th, just like I’m focused on avoiding diabetes-related complications down the road. Will I actually achieve either of those goals? I honestly don’t know, but I’m still hoping for the best…

Sorry for the downer of a post. I’ll see if I can find that witty sarcastic guy that normally writes here and get him to scribble something down.

3 comments so far

  1. jaimie on

    I’ve been there Harry and although hard to admit stayed there too long after a hip injury…battling my way back starting from the beginning is “major suckage” (in the famous words of Scott K Johnson)…I used to have an easy time with the fight through it mentality until the the ol’ hips gave way…it’s like you climb up for so long and you just want your body to match what your mind says you can do but it won’t listen…the worst thing I did was not honor and truely value that time spent training to get to where I was…looking at it much differently this ‘go around’ but it’s not easy…don’t give up! (I know you won’t) sending healing vibes! glitter unicorns?! I dunno!

  2. Crystal on

    Hang tough. You’ll get through it.

  3. Cherise on

    Your post isn’t a downer:) it’s awesome! I pray that your injury heals soon! 26 miles?!? Running?!? I’m already tired just thinking about it.


Leave a Reply

