40 questions

This place needs a little light-heartedness, so I thought instead of complaining about injuries, we’d rock a little Meme Monday action…thanks to Hannah (and by proxy, Lee Ann) for the inspiration. If you’re in need of a blog post, feel free to snatch (tee hee) this one for your own use.

1. Do you like bleu cheese? Not particularly. If I order buffalo wings and the restaurant decides that bleu cheese dressing is a better accompaniment than ranch, I can deal with it, but I’m not going to go out of my way to get it.

2. Have you ever smoked? Like regularly, or ever? I have the occasional cigar, but that’s about it.

3. Do you own a gun? Several. But I only like to shoot non-living things (you know, like targets). I don’t really have much of a desire to go hunting, or to shoot people (unless they mean me harm).

4. Favorite type of Food? Is bacon a type of food? How about “slightly floppy” bacon? That is a type of bacon, and bacon is definitely a food. I think that counts.

5. Favorite type of music? I like Hannah’s answer of “the good type”. Really, it depends on my mood. I have what I like to think is a pretty diverse catalogue. Right now, my favorite type is Pearl Jam on Austin City Limits, because I’m watching it, and it is freaking awesome.

6. What do you think of hot dogs? Fucking love them. Just had one for dinner, actually.

7. Favorite Christmas movie? Muppet Christmas Carol, hands down.

8. What do you prefer to drink in the morning? Lately, coffee. Although if it’s really hot, I’ll go with a diet soda. As long as it has caffeine, I’m good.

9. Can you do push ups? A few. The tendons in my elbows start popping after a while, so I prefer not to.

10. What’s your favorite piece of jewelry? My wedding ring. It pretty much never comes off.

11. Favorite hobby? Listening to music. I have other hobbies, but I usually listen to music while doing them.

12. Do you have A. D. D.? I suppose my wife would drive if I was really drunk, but it’s not her full-time occupation. (see what I did there?)

13. Do you wear glasses/contacts? I wear sunglasses…

14. Middle name? Starr (yes, really.)

15. Name 3 thoughts at this exact moment: I could really use another pillow. Eddie Vedder has an awesome voice. Stop head-butting me, stupid cat.

16. Name 3 drinks you regularly drink: Okay, but that seems silly since they’re gone now. But since you asked, Samuel, Lenny, and Wolfgang. Can I anthropomorphize anything else for you?

17. Current worry? I’m really quite concerned our TV will die before Thanksgiving. It’s not looking good. And you do not want to be in this house during the Macy’s parade without a functioning television.

18. Current hate right now? Don’t really have one, but I’m still a little irritated at this really close-minded bumper sticker I saw earlier.

19. Favorite place to be? Geographically, I would say Seattle. But only if Meredith is there with me.

20. How did you bring in the new year? I don’t really remember, but I think I was asleep.

21. Someplace you’d like to go? Big Sur. I was so close a few weeks ago, but just didn’t have time.

22. Name three people who will complete this. Lee Ann, Hannah, and Harry…and hopefully some of their friends.

23. Do you own slippers? Sort of. I have some canvas Crocs that walk a fine line between slipper and shoe, but I think they’re more “shoe”.

24. What color shirt are you wearing? Red.

25. Do you like sleeping on satin sheets? I’ve never tried them, but they sound like they might get hot.

26. Can you whistle? I can, but I actually do better whistling inward as opposed to your conventional outward whistle.

27. Where are you now? Couch? House? Cornelius? North Carolina? Turducken?

28. Would you be a pirate? Probably not. I don’t have a clever response to this, I just don’t think I would do it.

29. What songs do you sing in the shower? You never really know what’s going to come out, but I sing in the shower almost every day. Often they’re very strange songs, and I wonder why I’m thinking of them so early in the morning.

30. Favorite Girl’s Name? Meredith. (that’s the name of my favorite girl, at least.)

31. Favorite boy’s name? Julian.

32. What is in your pocket right now? An insulin pump, kleenex, and a receipt from lunch.

33. Last thing that made you laugh? This Geico commercial.

34. What vehicle do you drive? An F-150 Supercrew…which is nice to have, but the longer commute to my new job is getting expensive.

35. Worst injury you’ve ever had? I think something might be wrong with my pancreas…

36. Do you love where you live? I do. I’d like a larger house, but I really don’t want to move away from this area…unless it’s to Seattle.

37. How many TVs do you have in your house? 5, but only 3 that are used regularly, and as previously mentioned, one of them is dying.

38. How many computers do you have in your house? 3 that are used regularly, plus a couple of old laptops that we’re still holding on to for some reason.

39. If you changed your job, what would it be? I guess “Customer Account Manager”, since I just did, and that is my new job.

40. If you were granted three wishes, what would they be? A cure for diabetes, healthy children, and a world without hate. (cheesy, I know. But it would be really nice.)

4 comments so far

  1. Karen on

    Hmmm, what a coincidence, I think something might be wrong with my pancreas too. How do we get confirmation on that??

    Loved the ADD answer. 🙂

  2. Gary on

    Ha! Good stuff…. “Starr”. snicker, snicker….

  3. casey on

    Funny! My pancreas is broke too! Glad to have found your blog.

  4. Cherise on

    I love your middle name! It’s good reading about he person with diabetes and not diabetes all the time.


Leave a Reply

