Posted in “Missed Connections”

So I did something really stupid the other day. No, not writing “2009” instead of “2010”…that’s going to be a problem until at least March. Or that time that I responded to myself on Twitter. Granted, those were not my brightest moments, but they’re hardly worthy of a blog post.

Anyway, so we decided to go to a movie on New Year’s Eve (Sherlock Holmes…I recommend it, BTW). Since it was a 7:00 movie and we hadn’t eaten dinner, we just had a snack of cheese and crackers before we left, saving room for popcorn at the movies (the latter being a carb-counting challenge in itself, but not part of today’s blogging agenda). Back to the story. So we’re sitting about an hour into the movie, and I start to feel like someone had replaced my blood with corn syrup. I thought if anything, I had overestimated the dosage for the popcorn, so I couldn’t figure out why my blood sugar would be high. I pulled out my pump to take a quick glance at the CGM reading just to be sure. It was around 200mg/dl if I remember correctly. After placing the pump back in my pocket, I retrieved my meter from my wife’s purse (sure is nice to have someone to lug all of my supplies around!) to double check, as I was on day 7 of that sensor and it hadn’t been doing so well on the latest cycle. After fumbling for a minute in the darkness with the meter and auxilary lighting supply (a.k.a. iPhone), I got confirmation that something was off…309mg/dl off, to be exact. Reaching back into my pocket for the pump, I happened to brush past my infusion site, which felt smaller and sharp-edgier than usual. After a brief pat-down, I realized that there was an important component missing from the aforementioned infusion site…namely, the part with the tubing that supplies that lovely protein that we depend on. Well that makes sense. But when did it become disconnected? Oh, right. I changed pants a couple of hours ago. You know, before we had cheese and crackers. And sweet, buttery popcorn. So it’s been a few hours since I’ve had ANY insulin. No basals, no bolus to cover either of my snacks, nothing. Now comes the hard part…figuring out how much to bolus to bring things back under control. Of course the pump didn’t want to give me anything, considering how much active insulin I had on board (nevermind that it had actively soaked itself into the fibers of my jeans), and I had no idea how much things were going to keep rising. The initial bolus brought things back into a more acceptable range, but it took a few follow-ups to get things just right. Not the end of the world, but still pretty frustrating that I forgot to do something so important.

Some things about diabetes are pretty tough to figure out, even after years of experience. On the other hand, making sure the insulin actually gets into your body, is quite elementary, my dear Thompson.

6 comments so far

  1. Jaimie on

    Can’t wait to see that movie!…

    Been there 😦 frustrating….in the famous words of Scott Johnson… “Major suckage”…ugh those moments…

  2. Stacey D. on

    Don’t be so hard on yourself! Times like that are frustrating but we are only humans in charge of our portable pancreases … there is bound to be some malfunctions on our part too. Glad you figured out before it got even uglier!

  3. Karen on

    Haha, I’ve responded to myself on Twitter more than once. I always try to quickly delete it and hope nobody noticed . . . but I know they did and they are laughing at me.

    As for your pump plugging problem, I haven’t done that particular one yet – but I’m sure it’s only a matter of time. We aren’t perfect and these things are going to happen. I mean, it’s really not natural to have to make sure you are plugged in at all times, is it? At least you had your meter with you – I can’t tell you how many times I’ve accidentally left home without mine!!

  4. Cherise on

    Your wife sounds cool! Yikes, I am glad your okay. I haven’t been living with diabetes as long as you have but trust me we all forget to so something every now and then. Do you (your wife) carry a spare insulin pen, just incase?

  5. Gary on

    +1 on using the wife’s bag/purse/whatever to stash a meter and snacks. She’s a cute little pack mule.

  6. Leighann of D-Mom Blog on

    When we go to the movies, I take an empty 4-cup container and fill that with popcorn from the bucket. We count that as about 15gC.

    We try to go the the movies at my daughter’s regular snack time so we don’t have to bolus. But if she wants more corn, we give insulin accordingly.


Leave a Reply

