A day in the life…with diabetes

Today I’m supposed to write about the ways diabetes affects my life in a typical day. Since I wasn’t prepared enough to plan a day in advance, I’m just going to go with the past 24 hours, as that is by definition, “a day”. Of course, I could go with a Jupiter day, which is only 9.8 Earth hours, but I digress…

Rather than bore you with the mundane part the day where I work, sleep, and such just like every other person, I’ll just select a few highlights:

Sunday, 6:05pm: At a pool party for our 7th grade youth group at church (I’m one of the leaders, not a 7th grader, btw), I get to answer a series of questions – What is that on your back? That’s where my insulin pump connects. Why do you have that? Because my pancreas doesn’t make insulin to cover the food I eat. Can you feel it? I feel the part that’s attached to my skin, but I don’t feel the part that’s inside me really. And so on…

Sunday, 6:30pm: Despite having been disconnected from my pump for about 45 minutes, my blood sugar still goes low and I have to get out of the pool and have a snack. This is, of course, due to the previously discussed fact that swimming pools cure diabetes.

Sunday, 11:00pm: Quick blood sugar check before bed. 114 mg/dl. Sweet! Goodnight, world.

Monday, 7:30am: Pump – “BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP” Me – “WTF do you want? Oh, right. Since I didn’t have to take any insulin at bedtime, you’re letting me know that I haven’t touched you in 10 hours. Awesome. Thanks.”

Monday, 8:34am: I’m hungry. Better check the old blood sugar before I have that delightful Nutri Grain bar. 257 mg/dl? What the deuce? How did that happen? <Quick pat-down to make sure I remembered to connect my pump after my shower this morning. Oh yeah, the beeping. Nevermind.> Oh well. No breakfast for me this morning.

Monday, 8:35am: Sad face.

Monday, 11:45am: I’m so hungry. Can I have lunch now? 142 mg/dl. Yay, I CAN have lunch!

Monday, 5:05pm: Driving home from work. Crap, I forgot to set the temporary basal on my pump before I left work, so I can go for a bike ride when I get home without too much insulin on board. Thus begins the graceful ballet of snaking the pump out of my pocket, setting the temp basal, all while not wrecking the car.

Monday, 6:05pm: Sorry, time’s up! 🙂

I’m sure I could come up with more, but in the essence of time (since you kind people have a lot of blogs to read this week!), I’ll wrap things up. These are some of the more notable moments, but to be honest, there are so many times that I think about diabetes in one way or another, it’s hard to write them all down. I often wonder what I would think about if I didn’t have to think about the big D all of the time. Would I be one of those people that remembers statistics about sports? Could I actually complete a Sudoku puzzle? Who knows? Stay tuned for tomorrow, when I write about <this is where I go to Karen’s blog to find out what I have to write about tomorrow>.

10 comments so far

  1. S.Mc on

    LOL- swimming pools have “cured” by diabetes many times.

    Today’s post was a difficult one to write for me because , like you said, so many moments are spent thinking about diabetes- it’s nearly impossible to include them all!

  2. Karen on

    I love that you feel the need to point out to all of us that you are a leader and not a 7th grader. LOL And yeah, I was doing sad face this morning because I was too high for breakfast – stupid cold.

    Tomorrow is easy. Tomorrow is what to treat a low with. So easy that I even have my post pre-written and ready to publish at 6am. So hopefully I can get a jump on blog reading – because my goodness there are a ton of us!!! 🙂

  3. chris Bishop on

    Nice post. short and to the point. Diabetes can really dictate your day, week, month, year and life. My post for today was a freakin novel. Looking forward to read tomorrows post.

    chris

  4. Crystal on

    Ahhh, the pool cure. Is it Not winter yet?

    I very much wonder what I would do with my brain (ha, I almost wrote power) if I did not have to allow it to be consumed constantly planning ahead. Holy run on sentence. Ooo! Maybe I could write better?

    Statistics about sports? Oh my. Would love to fill my brain with that. Maybe I can, if I Really tried.

    Dude, Sudoku is easy. What’s your deal?
    Ahhh, right. Soon to be Dad. 🙂

  5. Lorraine on

    The pool is totally curing. TOTALLY!

    I made a sad face, then read about your sad face. 😦

    And – wow – I am impressed – 7th graders – god bless you – seriously. I would love to read a post on that experience alone.

    I wonder what I would think about too if I didn’t have to think about diabetes. I will actually get there some day. It makes me sad because it won’t be gone, just shifted to Caleb.

    I’m inspired to read about all the thought and effort that you all put into managing diabetes. I hope Caleb will be just like you.

  6. Rebeca on

    That’s pretty funny. I had a little girl totally wrinkle up her face in Sunday School yesterday morning when my pump decided to do that I’m-about-to-explode alarm b/c I’ve ignored it for so long. I was teaching about 6 days of creation. I reached over, defused the “bomb” and carried on with the lesson. She just cocked her head and furrowed her brow… must have been thinking “Wow, she just saved the world.” or “Is she a doctor? She was just paged.” And “paged” is the correct answer. My pancreas paged me to say I QUIT!

  7. jenny on

    😦 I eat nutri grain bars for breakfast too! I was a bit high this morning too, but I had to eat because I’m not allowed to eat at school…dumbest rule ever. Lol

  8. FatCatAnna on

    Great post – and so well done (darn was having visions of you in a school girl outfit – my bad).

    Like you say – so many things can be put down in all that we PWD’s are writing about this week – that sometimes may be missed out. Hopefully with all that we’re putting out here to the world – we’ll get our point out – or at least we’ll all be able to nod and say “yeah – been there – done that”.

    I can vouch for the pool “curing” my diabetes. Good exercise, no stress, makes it almost disappear! When I’m on holidays, where there is water to be found (I sail – so always surrounded by water in warmer climate) – I find I use next to no insulin – and have an appetite like I don’t usually have!

  9. Scott K. Johnson on

    Oh man – I totally cracked up at the “sad face” line!

  10. Angel Silva on

    Incredibly great writing. Truely.


Leave a Reply

