It’s not you, it’s mio

So I was pretty excited when I went to order new pump supplies a while back, and Medtronic had these new mio infusion sets. 32″ tubing? Awesome. Self-contained inserting device? Neato. Pretty colors? Meh.

What seemed like a good idea in concept does not seem to be working for me in reality. I ordered 1 box of the mio sets just to try them out, and I’ve gotten so annoyed with them that I can’t even seem to get through those 10 set. First there’s the fact that the inserting device just doesn’t work as smoothly as I’d like. I’ve found that I have to apply the IV Prep wipes and let my skin dry to the point that it’s really sticky to prevent the needle from pulling the whole site out when I try to remove it. Nothing worse than inserting the same set twice. And then there’s the issue of what to do with that inserting device when you’re done. There’s really no way to remove the needle part, and I haven’t seen a sharps container* yet that will hold that whole plastic mess.

Another issue I’m not terribly happy with is how the tubing connects to the implanted site. Notwithstanding the fact that it looks sort of like some clear unambitious stingray, it just plain hurts to connect this thing. It seems to require an extraordinary amount of force to get the connection to firmly snap in place, and I’m not crazy about wiggling around things that are stuck inside my body (that’s what she said?). And they only included 2 “plugs” (unlike the Quick-sets, where you get one with each infusion set), which took me about 3 trips to the pool to lose forever to the chlorine-y depths.

So is this blog post just a way for me to bitch about my medical equipment? Sort of. But the bigger picture is this…I’ve been considering a switch to the Animas pump, and looking at their website, their “Inset” family of infusion sets bears a very striking resemblance to the mio. I’m concerned that with Animas the infusion set options are more limited than with Medtronic, and I’m really not sure if I like this design as my primary option. Animas users, any input? Are the Inset sets really the same as the mio? Are there other options that I’m not aware of?

* By “sharps container”, I of course mean “old Clorox bottle”

5 comments so far

  1. Stacey D. on

    Come on Harry. You know you sport the pink mios :p
    All kidding aside and I hate to be the one to break it to you but the animas insets are the same as the medtronic mios. Exactly. Although this is from a positive viewpoint, check out my blog about the mio compared to the inset: http://portablepancreasgirl.com/2010/09/27/the-mio/. And feel free to ask any questions since I’ve used both.

  2. Kim on

    Hi Harry! While I use the Animas Ping pump, I don’t use
    their infusion sets. (I know – I’m a rebel.) I prefer to do
    manually inserted sets, so maybe you won’t be interested, but the
    Comfort infusion sets work just swell with the Ping. You can see
    them here:
    http://diabetesstore.com/productdetails.asp?product=890802622&catname=Insulin+Pump+Supplies
    They’re actually all I’ve ever used – dating back to my Deltec
    Cozmo days. Oh, memories. Hope you find something that works for
    you!

  3. Karen on

    I’m a Quick-Set user, but I have to admit I’ve pondered those Mio sets. I’ve been tempted to order a box and try them out. But after reading this, I don’t think I’ll waste my money!! I’m happy with Quick-Set, so I think I’ll stay put!

    • Amy on

      We have been quick-set lovers for years, but I too was drawn to the coolness of the Mio. (my little princess is all about the pink, so it was a serious factor in our choice) When they arrived I HATED using them on my daughter because of the same issues you describe. I accidentally pulled several of them out while trying to remove the stupid inserter. Grrrrrrrr
      We have adjusted to using them, and honestly they don’t bother ME anymore (we are past the user error phase), but just this week my daughter looked at her daddy’s quick set and begged me to ditch the cool pink Mio’s. She misses the easier to use, less painful quick-sets. In our house the Mio’s are done!

      Some things aren’t as cool as they look.

  4. jewels on

    I’ve had Type 1 for 29 years and my daughter for 5. I don’t prefer the Animas as that pump is heavy- i like my underwear to stay where they belong. My daughter is 10, swims on a swim team every day and we LOVE the Mio. The part you probably are missing is pushing the set back against your belly after it is inserted to secure the tape to your skin. (are you Hairy Harry? ha- sorry, poor humor) the only time it hasn’t stuck is when I forgot to remove the backing on the tape (Emma loved that…) Those plugs for the site we never use. Take a gander at the plug it has a hole in it. I remember years ago someone showing me you can actually put an insulin syringe through that hole- not much of a plug… Jewels


Leave a Reply

